Products on www.Shieldlab.com


Alarm Monitoring

Alarm Monitoring

PPC Ad

Trustpilot Badge >

Women's Self Defense

Women's Self Defense

Members Online

122 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: Need DSC 1832 Help  (Read 27141 times)

sn95gonzalez

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Need DSC 1832 Help
« on: March 12, 2009, 10:13:00 PM »
I have a DSC 1832 and am trying to upload the program to the panel using a laptop and downloaded programs.  I do the *8, code, 499, code, and nothing happens.  I have been told I might not have the current updates and is probably missing one or two updates, (eventhought I have downloaded updates from the site).  Can anyone help?  Thanks
« Last Edit: June 28, 2018, 05:56:14 PM by AlarmMike »

PaulP

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I'm a llama!
    • View Profile
Re: Need DCS 1832 Help
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2009, 04:33:11 PM »
The manual states:  (*8 code to get in Program mode)

499, code, 499

Did you try this combination?  Good luck.

Paul

« Last Edit: March 20, 2009, 04:36:00 PM by PaulP »

george6488

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 898
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • It's easier to ask for forgiveness than permission
    • View Profile
Re: Need DCS 1832 Help
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2009, 08:41:04 PM »
You need to dowmload the web update add-on to the DSC program and then run the update to get the latest drivers.

How are you connecting the PClink to your computer?

If you are using a USB to serial adapter.....the highly recommended adapter and the only one reported to work 100% of the time by DSC is the Keyspan USA19-HS.

You can buy it off eBay or from www.keyspan.com


karasu

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Need DCS 1832 Help
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2010, 03:22:14 PM »
if you have an rs232 interface and program, before you type *8,... select connect, and then you type,...

warning alarm system is MASTER, so you UPLOAD alarm>PC and DOWNLOAD PC>alarm!!!!

karasu

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Need DCS 1832 Help
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2010, 03:23:23 PM »
if you dont have rs232 interface , writeto me and i will draw you one (its simple and working)

dw

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
PC5132-RS
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2010, 07:28:03 AM »
HI,
I would like to know about PC5132-RS V310 COMPABILITY...could this device work with 433mhz other wireless dsc devices or only 900mhz?
P.S sorry i dont know how to create new post...
Thank you for any help.

ServiceGuy25

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 501
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Ademco,DSC,DMP,Napco
    • View Profile
Re: Need DCS 1832 Help
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2010, 07:38:38 AM »
A 900mhz receiver will only work with 900mhz transmitters. Unfortunately the 900 mhz products are discontinued.
The Fish
Service Technician

LIVI

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
DCS 1832 & RFK5500 Help
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2010, 05:12:53 AM »
Hi,

I'm new in comunity. I need to install one alarm system with DCS 1832 & RFK5500. Can someone tell me how can i program the keypad and  control panel with key pad???

ServiceGuy25

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 501
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Ademco,DSC,DMP,Napco
    • View Profile
Re: Need DCS 1832 Help
« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2010, 07:16:59 AM »
Need more info. How many keypads? What type of zones?
The Fish
Service Technician

diyglo

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Need DCS 1832 Help
« Reply #9 on: July 28, 2010, 03:01:47 PM »
newbie here.  I need to replace the panel and the keypads.  Looks like I can just use the same wirings and install a DCS 1832.  I am not sure if this is possible since I don't understand what all the color codes are.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4152/4833095827_bdd6a759b6_b.jpg

ServiceGuy25

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 501
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Ademco,DSC,DMP,Napco
    • View Profile
Re: Need DCS 1832 Help
« Reply #10 on: July 28, 2010, 10:37:12 PM »
I've upgraded those panels before with an 1832 and keypads no problem. If you do decide to do it, make sure one of your keypads is a 5500 'alpha keypad'. It will make programming a lot easier.
The Fish
Service Technician

diyglo

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Need DCS 1832 Help
« Reply #11 on: July 29, 2010, 12:52:24 PM »
Thanks.  Any idea how much it will cost to hire someone to do this.  Will this be too small a project.

ServiceGuy25

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 501
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • Ademco,DSC,DMP,Napco
    • View Profile
Re: Need DCS 1832 Help
« Reply #12 on: July 30, 2010, 08:23:38 AM »
Installing 2 keypads, a panel, and programming would normally take a pro 2-4 hours. Cost all depends on labor charges or if they find any other issues like a bad siren or sensor,etc,etc. If your not up to the task of doing it then I would shop around your local area and get some prices. I'm sure companies would love to come out and give you a free qoute.
The Fish
Service Technician

diyglo

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Need DCS 1832 Help
« Reply #13 on: August 04, 2010, 06:31:49 PM »
Thanks.  Since I am just switching out the panel and keypads, this may worth a try to diy.  After looking at all the system, it seems like DSC is the easiest (at least for me) to program as compare to ademco and GE.

tvtech

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 926
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Need DCS 1832 Help
« Reply #14 on: October 25, 2011, 10:10:03 PM »
I know this a very old post, but if you are downloading/uploading from a laptop, once you see the connection prompt, just unplug the 4 pin interface jack from the panel and plug it right back in and it will connect to the laptop without having to do the 499 thing... this helps when you are in the basement with the laptop and the keypad is upstairs. Of course the best thing to do is have a spare or utility KP at the panel just for programming. I keep an extra KP just for this.
This works on the 1832 panels not the older ones.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2011, 11:13:10 PM by tvtech »

 

Powered by EzPortal