Products on www.Shieldlab.com


Alarm Monitoring

Alarm Monitoring

PPC Ad

Trustpilot Badge >

Women's Self Defense

Women's Self Defense

Members Online

110 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: Moose Z1100 Question  (Read 9019 times)

Beetle

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Moose Z1100 Question
« on: December 15, 2011, 04:16:20 PM »
My Moose Z1100 System I was damaged by power surges during the April 2011 tornadoes.  I have removed the Control Board for visual inspection and found Diode D16 shorted, AUX fuse blown, FOIL FUSE blown and AC LED not lighting although I have 20.5 VAC showing between terminals 13 & 14.
Can anyone tell me what to replace the FOIL FUSE with since there is no information on this fuse in the manual?
Beetle

Beetle

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Moose Z1100 Question
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2011, 07:27:56 AM »
Second Question:
Would anyone be willing to share information regarding the location of fusible links (if any) on the Z1100 Control Board?  Again, the manual doesn't identify.
Beetle

MrRonFL

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 1173
  • Karma: +91/-1
  • NICET III #121766
    • View Profile
Re: Moose Z1100 Question
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2011, 07:52:59 PM »
Moose is _long_ out of production, but even taking that into account, security panel manufacturers are pretty secretive about the technical details of their circuit boards and components.

Basically, you simply aren't going to find this info with any degree of reliablity.

Unless you are trying to work it out as a technical challenge, when a Moose panel gets fried, all you really can do is start over with a modern replacement.
The Truth of Thermodynamics:
You can't win; you cant' break even; and you can't get out of the Game.

Beetle

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Moose Z1100 Question
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2011, 06:14:43 AM »
Unless you are trying to work it out as a technical challenge, when a Moose panel gets fried, all you really can do is start over with a modern replacement.
Thanks MrRonFL -- I may have to go that route but not before trying to fix it.
If I'm lucky, someone will give me the information I need.
Beetle

Beetle

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Moose Z1100 Question
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2012, 11:32:12 AM »
Got a [KIT32-POWER5 - DSC Power 1832 Security Kit[ to replace the Z1100 but am continuing work on the Z1100 before replacing it with the DSC.
#1 Son got a used Z1100 Control Board & Terminal Strips free from his alarm guy but we're having problems getting it programmed. 
Beetle

MrRonFL

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 1173
  • Karma: +91/-1
  • NICET III #121766
    • View Profile
Re: Moose Z1100 Question
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2012, 08:51:11 PM »
Read through the Z1100 installer manual carefully (3-4 times, trust me).  The moose programming interface isn't very intuitive, but once you figure out the pattern, it starts to make sense.

Also, double check your model.  There was a Z-1100, a Z1100e, and Z1100 System II, and all three models used a very different programming procedure.  If you use the wrong manual version, you get lost, quick.
The Truth of Thermodynamics:
You can't win; you cant' break even; and you can't get out of the Game.

Beetle

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Moose Z1100 Question
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2012, 09:16:53 PM »
Thanks MrRonFL,
I have my original manual -- will check the replacement control board against the bad original board.
You're right, the programming instructions are very difficult to follow (for a half-blind 80-year-old).
I'm gonna give the Moose Z1100 system one more day before removing it in favor of the new DSC system.
Beetle

Beetle

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Moose Z1100 Question
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2012, 11:53:25 AM »
I'm gonna give the Moose Z1100 system one more day before removing it in favor of the new DSC system.
Haven't removed the Moose Z1100 yet because I don't think I have exhausted the programming options.
The Moose is actually working -- (Arms & Disarms) but doesn't respond to any Zone violation.
I'd hate to damage the new DSC by installing it into a defective system.
Beetle

Beetle

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Moose Z1100 Question
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2012, 06:48:47 AM »
Been studying the Moose Z1100 System I manual all week -- heading up to the Lakehouse this morning to try returning it to the default programming.
If no luck, will start replacing it with the new DSC.
Beetle

Beetle

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Moose Z1100 Question
« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2012, 11:16:15 AM »
Got the Moose Z1100 returned to factory default programming (98765 & 1-245) but it still isn't recognizing any sensors.  Ordered a Z1100 repair kit from eBay yesterday.
Kit consists of Keypad, Transformer & Control Board.
The new DSC 1832 is still on "standby".
Beetle

 

Powered by EzPortal