Products on www.Shieldlab.com


Alarm Monitoring

Alarm Monitoring

PPC Ad

Trustpilot Badge >

Women's Self Defense

Women's Self Defense

Members Online

182 Guests, 2 Users
murphy62,
RBEBY

Author Topic: Trying inject power through cat 5 to camera help  (Read 2947 times)

troutdog

  • Security Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • If it makes sense, your doing it wrong
    • View Profile
Trying inject power through cat 5 to camera help
« on: January 14, 2014, 05:49:48 PM »
We have been using FLIR/ Digimerge DNB13TF2 2.1mp Bullet IP Camera with great success. The DVR that comes with kit has 4 POE/Data slots. We have been adding cameras to some of these systems that are on a network switch.
 My question is we have to run the cat 5 plus a separate power that goes into a separate plug on cam other than the RJ45 connection on the extra cams. Im trying to inject power on pins-positive 4,5 negative 7,8 on RJ45/cat5. It wont power up, Its like FLIR uses different pins for power. We are doing this trying to save on extra power wire cost.
Has anyone tried this before?

  Thanks

Guyfromhe

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 1872
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Trying inject power through cat 5 to camera help
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2014, 06:50:41 PM »
Are you trying to power a non Poe camera by injecting 48v into random wires on the cat 5?

You can get a pair of Poe injectors to do it properly for each cam...

troutdog

  • Security Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • If it makes sense, your doing it wrong
    • View Profile
Re: Trying inject power through cat 5 to camera help
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2014, 08:56:10 AM »
Its an IP camera 12v and has a 12v plug on it to power or you can use PoE as stand alone. The DVR has 4 poe on it, but if you add more cameras you gotta get 12v power supply or 12v PoE injector.
 I was trying to cut out pins 4,5,7,8 that are only PoE pins, they are not used for data and put 12v on the proper ones to make 12v going to camera via cat5.

bramfrank

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 702
  • Karma: +10/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Trying inject power through cat 5 to camera help
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2014, 04:16:24 PM »
You should simply do it right.

What Guyfromhe suggested is absolutely correct.  Get a proper power injector or plug a 12 volt supply directly into the camera or buy a POE enabled switch.
Able1 is a twit.  Correction, Twit is too mild a term.

troutdog

  • Security Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • If it makes sense, your doing it wrong
    • View Profile
Re: Trying inject power through cat 5 to camera help
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2014, 05:01:04 PM »
Thanks guys, Thats exactly what we'll have to do.

Question, Why does it not power on when I do splice into the cat5 to camera?   It must be the way PoE delivers the power. Just wondering and trying to learn something. Thanks

Guyfromhe

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 1872
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Trying inject power through cat 5 to camera help
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2014, 08:09:44 PM »
Poe doesn't run on 12v, there is also some communication between the Poe device and power supply you likely didn't account for...

I don't know the whole spec by heart look it up on Wikipedia and follow the standard if you expect it to work.

It's not something built for people to randomly add power to the lines...it's a whole protocol specification that needs to be followed if you expect it to work.

Most Poe injectors are hacks and don't really use Poe on either end...They just inject voltage and then break it out into an adapter plug on the other end....You also have to isolate the switch from your voltage or you could break it m

 

Powered by EzPortal