Alarm Monitoring

Alarm Monitoring

PPC Ad

Trustpilot Badge >

Women's Self Defense

Women's Self Defense

Members Online

123 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: Looking to become a security systems installer as a career. A couple questions.  (Read 2260 times)

djm227

• Security Master
    • View Profile
Hello all, first post.

I'm looking for a career change, and the security/alarm installation field has always fascinated me.  My primary question is, what exactly do I need to know in order to get involved in this career?  Do alarm companies provide new recruits with comprehensive training, or do you need to know your stuff before even applying?  ADT has a few openings in my area, and I was thinking of applying soon.

I've worked maintenance jobs for more than five years, and have a solid knowledge of electricity and circuits.  I'm no expert, but I've read a couple of text books.  I also have a BA degree in the IT field.  I know that's unrelated, but I figure it wouldn't hurt.  I'm in my mid twenties.

Any advice would be much appreciated.  Merry Christmas!
« Last Edit: December 26, 2014, 10:23:48 PM by djm227 »

corxxgold

• Security Guru
    • View Profile
Most train new people

AlarmMike

• Administrator
  • Security Guru
    • View Profile
Starting out from scratch with any of the large companies will be as a "grunt" wire-puller with a lot of time spent in attics and crawlspaces.

As quickly as you can, study and work towards your low-volt journeyman's license.  This will be a good pay raise and open doors for you.

After this, many techs will then continue on and get their admin license and move on to start their own businesses.

But we all started out with those attics and crawl spaces.  If you can put in the time and build your hours, study for the exams, it's a great and "secure" field to be in.  Aside from security, you'd be looking at network, telcom, video, sound, HVAC, you name it.