Forum > Security System Horror Stories

Honeywell alarm system scam

(1/1)

PCH2015:
Yesterday we were visited by a couple of young guys posing as Honeywell sales technicians. They had picture IDs and wore FBI-like swat team logo teeshirts and caps and told us they had noticed our Local Security Company sign and that many of this company's customers had out-of-date security systems. The main salesman said that a lot of people had, in particular, outdated keypads. I immediately asked him if he was authorized by my security company and he told me he wasn't but that a replacement would be free if the existing keypad was an older model. That's very interesting considering that each one costs around $300. He said that older keypads used 2G telephone technology and that meant the system communicated over land line that could be easily cut and that the newer keypads used 4G technology which was cell phone technology so couldn't be interrupted. Well, I'm an engineer and I understand exactly how my system and phone technology works and I personally chose every component including the latest keypad at the time--the Ademco 6272CV. First of all, 2G technology is cell phone technology, not 'land line'. It is of course outdated but it still functions wirelessly. Second, I know well that the keypad has absolutely nothing to do with the GSM radio communication system that connects with Honeywell's AlarmNet communication network that any alarm system uses. So I knew this was a scam. I was very tough with them and they suddenly concluded that my keypad was up-to-date and said something about my metal sign needing upgrading. They left and the main guy said sarcastically that he'd wave to me if he saw me again in the neighborhood. Nice touch huh?