Products on www.Shieldlab.com


Alarm Monitoring

Alarm Monitoring

PPC Ad

Trustpilot Badge >

Women's Self Defense

Women's Self Defense

Members Online

91 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: Device 8 (overcurrent)  (Read 1871 times)

LakisFM1

  • Security Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Device 8 (overcurrent)
« on: November 25, 2016, 10:44:14 AM »
Hello,
I got over-current in device 8.
I checked all devices seem to work normally.
Vbat =13.7V
V(12v) = 13.5V right in the positive connector on the NX-10 panel pcb.

Can anyone tell me which should be 'device 8' ?

ps. my known devices are:

Device 22 - NX-216 (16 zone expansion board)
Device 72 - NX-584 (RS232)
Device 77 - NX-535 (voice)
Device 191 - NX-595 (ip)
Device 192 - NX-148E keypad
Device 200 - NX-1750 (proximity reader)

Thanks.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2016, 02:44:05 AM by LakisFM1 »

bramfrank

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 699
  • Karma: +10/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Device 8 (overcurrent)
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2016, 04:28:35 AM »
Sorry, but at least on the American versions of the control thee is no documented device 8.

In your situation I suggest contacting UTC/Interlogix support and asking them. And I would ask you to post the answer here.
Able1 is a twit.  Correction, Twit is too mild a term.

Sir Flannel

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 559
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Device 8 (overcurrent)
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2016, 07:45:40 PM »
Is anything powered on the other side of something else? A keypad wired to the zone expander terminals instead of straight to aux power? I've had that issue when daisy-chaining power through a zone expander or wireless receiver and then to another device. I don't know which one is device 8, but the panel may be reading the current draw of device x and y and believing it to be only the current draw of x.
We have no government armed with power capable of contending with human passions unbridled by morality and religion. Avarice, ambition, revenge or gallantry would break the strongest cords of our Constitution as a whale goes through a net. Our Constitution is designed only for a moral and religious people. It is wholly inadequate for any other. -John Adams

LakisFM1

  • Security Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Device 8 (overcurrent)
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2016, 12:17:34 AM »
Hello Sir Flannel,
The panel is an NX10 V3 EUR , using an NX-216 for adding 16 wired zones (since the NX10 has only 2 wired).

//Is anything powered on the other side of something else? A keypad wired to the zone expander terminals instead of straight to aux power? //

My panel has POS and AUXPWR power terminals. What do you mean when you say zone expander terminals?.
Also a keypad isnt't normally connected using 3 wires to COM , POS, and DATA ?.

« Last Edit: December 11, 2016, 12:20:13 AM by LakisFM1 »

bramfrank

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 699
  • Karma: +10/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Device 8 (overcurrent)
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2016, 08:13:34 AM »
I think he may be suggesting that this might be an error you might receive if you are pulling too much power from the buss power output.

Easy enough to check;  Move the + power lead from the keypad power terminal to the aux power terminal and see if the error remains or whether it changes to some other address.

I still think the best way to find out is to ask Interlogix directly.
Able1 is a twit.  Correction, Twit is too mild a term.

LakisFM1

  • Security Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Device 8 (overcurrent)
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2016, 10:09:35 AM »
So far i have done 2 reboots :) and waiting for the over-current error , but does not appear anymore.
Probably it was something temporary.

If i ever find out what it was i will post it here.

 

Powered by EzPortal