Products on www.Shieldlab.com


Alarm Monitoring

Alarm Monitoring

PPC Ad

Trustpilot Badge >

Women's Self Defense

Women's Self Defense

Members Online

80 Guests, 3 Users
fremont611,
Flyct,
modernavdesigns

Author Topic: Ademco Vista 4140xm question  (Read 2060 times)

Guyfromhe

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 1853
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Ademco Vista 4140xm question
« Reply #45 on: March 11, 2017, 07:16:07 PM »
There's probably a reason it's advertised as 9 bucks a month... I'm sure they do a fine job of calling you if there's a problem, but if you want top notch CS you may have to spend a little more...

rudyjr

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Ademco Vista 4140xm question
« Reply #46 on: March 11, 2017, 07:28:51 PM »
There's probably a reason it's advertised as 9 bucks a month... I'm sure they do a fine job of calling you if there's a problem, but if you want top notch CS you may have to spend a little more...

Roger that! Well I think I know who I am going to use for the monitoring, since they were able to actually answer questions and give me a price. Since I have to replace my existing smokes with new two wire smokes I was thinking of using System Sensor 2W-B's are these OK?

Guyfromhe

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 1853
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Ademco Vista 4140xm question
« Reply #47 on: March 11, 2017, 08:16:41 PM »
Should be fine.

Flyct

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 359
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Ademco Vista 4140xm question
« Reply #48 on: March 12, 2017, 12:50:04 AM »
Thanks for the information. This is the second time I have reached out to Alarm Relay. I sent them an email from their contact page requesting pricing information based on my communication path choices and never received any kind of response. The first time I contacted them was by phone and I talked with a young lady in customer service who could not give me a definitive answer on pricing. Not overly impressed at this point.

I've been using Alarm Relay at 2 homes since December 2104. . I had no issue getting pricing on the phone.

Both homes have a 20P with an IPDatatel dual communicator Ip/cellular. I went with ipdatatel because the only reliable cellular service at these homes is Verizon and GSM doesn't work.

Pricing was as follows for 1st yr $238.40 break down below;
$35 one time programming fee with tech online to program my Vista 20P and IPDatatel cbat.
$8.95/mo paid annually for basic monitoring and CS via pots phone line
$7.00/mo extra for cellular and IP monitoring
$1.00/mo for interactive service = remote web page iPhone app access and ability to set up text and email alerts on the fly.

2nd year price goes up $1/mo or $215.40 (no programming fee)

3rd year price goes up $1/mo or $12 extra/yr
4th + year no price change.

They sold me the IPDatatel communicator $179 for hard wired and $199 for wifi/hardwired

Excellent CS. Very fast response.
Excellent customer service.  If I add zone I just send them an email and they reply to my original email to confirm my identity.

If I need an Alarm Certificate for homeowners insurance discount they email me one. 

I highly recommend them for a DIY user.

rudyjr

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Ademco Vista 4140xm question
« Reply #49 on: March 14, 2017, 09:25:12 PM »
Should be fine.
Thanks for your help. I have a 21ip on its way with a 6160 keypad, a 4219 zone expander, and two smokes as well as an overhead door contact for starters for the garage. I know the wiring end of this will be no problem but the programming might be a little challenging. Thank you for all of the help with everything.

rudyjr

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Ademco Vista 4140xm question
« Reply #50 on: March 18, 2017, 01:21:40 PM »
Does anyone have any suggestions or ideas on how to mount the 4219 zone expander inside of the control panel? My old system had the zone expander mounted right on the main board. I was curious as to wether there was room to mount the 4219 circuit board in the can somewhere and if so ho to do it. My OCD in me just thinks it would look cleaner!

Guyfromhe

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 1853
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Ademco Vista 4140xm question
« Reply #51 on: March 18, 2017, 04:43:30 PM »
Depends what you have in there already... If you only have the main circuit and the battery you should have a ton of room.. Usually when you mount something in the panel you take the plastic case off and just mount the bare board with standoffs so it doesn't short out.

rudyjr

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Ademco Vista 4140xm question
« Reply #52 on: March 18, 2017, 06:09:29 PM »
Depends what you have in there already... If you only have the main circuit and the battery you should have a ton of room.. Usually when you mount something in the panel you take the plastic case off and just mount the bare board with standoffs so it doesn't short out.
Thats exactly what I would like to do. The 4219 didn't come with any standoffs do you happen to know where to get some?

Guyfromhe

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 1853
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Ademco Vista 4140xm question
« Reply #53 on: March 18, 2017, 06:22:43 PM »
I'm sure you can get them online but I'd check your local hardware store first....

rudyjr

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Ademco Vista 4140xm question
« Reply #54 on: April 23, 2017, 04:42:30 PM »
I finally got around to installing the Vista 21ip and the 4219 zone expander. Everything went fine with the existing hard wired zones and the new smoke detectors. I programmed zones 2-10 as nc loops and left zone 1 my fire detection loop. I have been able to change my master code to my old code and enter my alpha descriptors for the zones without much issue. I did disable the ip communicator to clear the error message I had that it had not been registered. I will enable it when I contact my monitoring company. There were a couple of sheets with the instruction and programming manuals. The first one was a Tech Tip for Total connect 2.0 installers which is way over my head. Can anyone (Sterling?) dumb this down for me?
« Last Edit: April 24, 2017, 09:53:45 AM by rudyjr »

rudyjr

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Ademco Vista 4140xm question
« Reply #55 on: April 30, 2017, 07:42:10 PM »
Well status update: As of Friday 4/28 everything is up and running and connected to the monitoring company. I was amazed how easy it was for them to connect to the panel and verify everything on their end. All the zone descriptors showed up correctly and all told it probably took less than 15 minutes for everything! I love having the smartphone access to everything and it sure is a huge leap forward technology wise over the old 4140 panel. Makes it nice as heck to get ready to turn it at night and be able to look down the list on the phone and check the zones and bypass the ones you want to leave open and arm the system. I thank everyone on this forum that took the time to walk me through all of this the help was invaluable, along with the excellent videos by Sterling Donnelly and John Burroughs that made the install and programming a breeze!
 The only remaining thing I need to do is add the hard wired zones from my detached garage to zone 11 doors and 12 windows on my zone expander. I have tied the overhead door and service door together to create one zone which I plan to set up as entry exit zone but I am a little uncertain how I am going to program it. I have an entry door and a patio door on the panel already at zones 2 and 3. Since I already had the contacts I went ahead and hooked them up I have just not landed the wires in the panel yet. Any further insight and suggestions for this zone? Also should the panel be powered down to add these two wires? I am certain I can land them without any incidental contact. Thanks again.

Guyfromhe

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 1853
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Ademco Vista 4140xm question
« Reply #56 on: May 02, 2017, 03:49:01 AM »
Depends how you plan on using it...

You can put the garage on it's own partition, you can set it up as a normal peremiter zone or you can make it a vent zone so you can have the doors open after arming the system...

Yes it should be, those are famous last words of people who had to go out and buy a new panel/keypad, etc.

It's not quite as critical with zone wiring since you aren't anywhere near the power wires/databus, but for the 30 seconds it takes to remove power and re-apply it I wouldn't take the chance.  If you don't mess it up than there's no reason it wouldn't work while the system is on but it's really not recommended.


rudyjr

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Ademco Vista 4140xm question
« Reply #57 on: May 02, 2017, 09:28:31 PM »
Depends how you plan on using it...

You can put the garage on it's own partition, you can set it up as a normal peremiter zone or you can make it a vent zone so you can have the doors open after arming the system...

Yes it should be, those are famous last words of people who had to go out and buy a new panel/keypad, etc.

It's not quite as critical with zone wiring since you aren't anywhere near the power wires/databus, but for the 30 seconds it takes to remove power and re-apply it I wouldn't take the chance.  If you don't mess it up than there's no reason it wouldn't work while the system is on but it's really not recommended.

Yep famous last words nuff said! Thanks, so power down just the opposite of power up? Remove transformer then battery? Just hate to screw anything up at this point!
 Could you possibly walk me through setting it up as a vent zone? it would be nice to be able to arm it with the door up.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2017, 07:49:31 PM by rudyjr »

rudyjr

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Ademco Vista 4140xm question
« Reply #58 on: May 09, 2017, 09:47:54 AM »
Thanks to everyone that helped me get everything up and running. Thanks Guyfromhe for your help programming my garage zone, all of your suggestions worked perfectly. I only have one last thing that I would like to add to my system at this point. I am going to add some water detection to my system and I think I have come up with a workable solution. I am going to add a couple of GRI 2600 water sensors to one zone to cover my sump pump area and utility areas of my basement. I plan on setting this zone up as zone type 8 so that it is a 24 hour auxillary zone. That way I should get sms notification and keypad beeps but no alarm siren if I am not mistaken. Any suggestions or additions.

 

Powered by EzPortal