Products on www.Shieldlab.com


Alarm Monitoring

Alarm Monitoring

PPC Ad

Trustpilot Badge >

Women's Self Defense

Women's Self Defense

Members Online

67 Guests, 2 Users
bramfrank,
rakstr

Author Topic: Keypad slots  (Read 267 times)

rakstr

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Keypad slots
« on: May 10, 2017, 10:44:28 PM »
Is there a command sequence to tell you which slot a particular keypad is assigned?


I can see all my keypads in DLS "Signature Graphic" but I don't l know which is which physically.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2017, 10:52:54 PM by rakstr »
DLS5 and DSC1832

AlarmMike

  • Administrator
  • Security Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1208
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Keypad slots
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2017, 12:11:53 AM »
* 8 xxxx 000 0
partition and slot will be displayed  i.e. 18 = partition 1 slot 8 for alpha keypads
## to exit

If you have LED keypads you need to press the FIRE key to step through partition and slot which is coded in binary.
To the world you may be one person, but to one person you are the world.
- Kidney transplant recipient 04/27/2011

rakstr

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Keypad slots
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2017, 02:09:11 AM »
That did it!  THX.


All were already assigned slots and I want to add a motion to the zone on one of them.


Wierd that in the DLS Signature View only the RFK5500 shows up labelled by type and version with the RF module.  The other two PK5500's only show up as keypads labelled slot 6 and slot 7.  The older LED keypad show up as slot 1 but I expected that!



DLS5 and DSC1832

AlarmMike

  • Administrator
  • Security Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1208
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Keypad slots
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2017, 06:48:28 AM »
Not positive, but I suspect it's due to the 5500 keypads being assigned slots other than 8.  8 is the default for alpha keypads.  That or it may be older version keypads not supported 100%, more like 95%.
To the world you may be one person, but to one person you are the world.
- Kidney transplant recipient 04/27/2011

Static

  • Pro-Tech Advisor/Moderator
  • Security Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3854
  • Karma: +136/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Keypad slots
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2017, 04:55:00 AM »
As I recall, the alpha keypads will work in any slot; but you had to have one in slot 8 to allow broadcasting of labels to other keypads.
I have all the answers . . . some of them are correct.

rakstr

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Keypad slots
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2017, 01:22:22 AM »
You are correct.  However, to use the built in zone on the keypad, you need to assign it to a unique slot for identification.  I want to attach a motion to the zone on the keypad upstairs and I had forgotten which slot each keypad was assigned.  That was the crux of my question!!!!
As I recall, the alpha keypads will work in any slot; but you had to have one in slot 8 to allow broadcasting of labels to other keypads.
DLS5 and DSC1832

User16520

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Keypad slots
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2017, 06:53:38 PM »
* 8 xxxx 000 0
partition and slot will be displayed  i.e. 18 = partition 1 slot 8 for alpha keypads
## to exit

If you have LED keypads you need to press the FIRE key to step through partition and slot which is coded in binary.


I have a PK5501 keypad and when I do a * 8 xxxx 000 0 it just displays a tiny number 1 on the top row. Does it mean it is in partition 1 and the slot 8 (by default)?

AlarmMike

  • Administrator
  • Security Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1208
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Keypad slots
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2017, 08:26:35 PM »
No.  It's indicating partition 1.  On a PK55xx other than 5500, you'll need to press the right arrow key or FIRE key to see the slot number.

* 8 xxxx 000 0 "1" > "2" = partition 1 slot 2
To the world you may be one person, but to one person you are the world.
- Kidney transplant recipient 04/27/2011

User16520

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Keypad slots
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2017, 12:33:41 AM »
Hi Mike, it worked. Thanks.
I had to re-enroll the keypad too. Don't know why.

AlarmMike

  • Administrator
  • Security Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1208
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Keypad slots
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2017, 03:56:15 AM »
Any type you change a keypad slot, you in effect are "removing" module and "adding" a different module.  Any time a module is added or removed, you have to reset module supervision in 902.
To the world you may be one person, but to one person you are the world.
- Kidney transplant recipient 04/27/2011

 

Powered by EzPortal