Products on www.Shieldlab.com


Alarm Monitoring

Alarm Monitoring

PPC Ad

Trustpilot Badge >

Women's Self Defense

Women's Self Defense

Members Online

146 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: Change an old 15P to a new 20P Question  (Read 198 times)

HDE

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Change an old 15P to a new 20P Question
« on: October 11, 2017, 06:25:54 PM »
I have an old Vista 15P (PROM Rev 3.1) and I plan to add 2 - 4219 zone expanders and then rewire to change my zones to fewer sensors per zone. I am also planning to upgrade the PROM to Rev 10.24.

Since I am rewiring and then reprogramming would it be a good idea to change the old 15P to a new 20P?

Static

  • Pro-Tech Advisor/Moderator
  • Security Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3862
  • Karma: +136/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Change an old 15P to a new 20P Question
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2017, 07:34:26 PM »
Spidey senses are tingling. I have a strange feeling the 15P only supports one 4219 HW expander. I'm rusty and could be wrong, check the specs or maybe someone can confirm? If it does support only one and you want two then yes, a 20P would be a good upgrade.
I have all the answers . . . some of them are correct.

Magnum Alert

  • Pro-Tech Advisor/Moderator
  • Security Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3290
  • Karma: +177/-0
  • NICET Certified - Fire Alarm Systems - #121764
    • View Profile
Re: Change an old 15P to a new 20P Question
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2017, 10:35:37 PM »
errrrrrr.    48 expansion zones on the 20P, I think only 32 expansion zones on the 15P.

I *think* it's the 10P that can only have one expander.  Or perhaps it's the 10 that can have _only_ wireless expansion.  I used to have all that in my dropbox for quick reference, but it got hacked.
Specializing in Ademco, DSC, DMP, Moose, Napco, and GE Concord and NetworX.
NICET certified - #121764
VESDA certified designer/installer.

ChosunOne

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 535
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Change an old 15P to a new 20P Question
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2017, 03:01:13 AM »
The 15P has 6 on-board zones and supports up to 16 expansion zones. "Expansion zones" means either hardwired (4219) or wireless (5881) expanders, or both. So yes, it can support two 4219 HW expanders.

So a total of 22 zones, _including_ the on-board hardwire zones.

Magnum Alert, you may have been thinking of the old 20SE, I seem to recall that supported 32 zones total.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2017, 03:08:15 AM by ChosunOne »

Flyct

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 387
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Change an old 15P to a new 20P Question
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2017, 04:02:24 PM »
For less than $50 you could buy a new 20P and zone double it. No additional hardware needed. The kit come with zone doubling resistors.  Zone doubling will give you ability to wire 15 hard wired zones. All zones but zone 1 can be doubled.

I did that on a previous Home and it was very reliable.

 

Powered by EzPortal