Products on www.Shieldlab.com


Alarm Monitoring

Alarm Monitoring

PPC Ad

Trustpilot Badge >

Women's Self Defense

Women's Self Defense

Members Online

116 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: Connecting Visionic PowerMax + to Modem  (Read 414 times)

rjfoster03

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Connecting Visionic PowerMax + to Modem
« on: January 19, 2018, 10:19:15 AM »
Used to have landline service, but no longer have it. Am using Spectrum for phone service now. Monitoring is being done by Alarm Relay.

The PowerMax+ was connected directly to the telephone box, but now need to connect it to a cable modem.  What is the best way to connect the PowerMax + to the modem, while keeping the phone plugged into the modem.

Appreciate any suggestions.

AlarmMike

  • Administrator
  • Security Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1439
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting Visionic PowerMax + to Modem
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2018, 03:17:09 PM »
The correct way is to use an RJ31X for line seizure.  The easiest is with a line splitter.
1993-1995   Worked for one of the "nationals"  /  1996-Present   Independent dealer
Systems supported:   DSC, Ademco/Honeywell, ITI/GE/Interlogix
-----------------------------
To the world you may be one person, but to one person you are the world.
- Kidney transplant recipient 04/27/2011

rjfoster03

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting Visionic PowerMax + to Modem
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2018, 07:49:05 AM »
Thanks for the response.  If the alarm panel is on the other side of the house from the modem, is it best to run a telephone cable from the alarm to the rj31x (placed near the modem), then from the rj31x to the splitter (then to the modem and phone)?

Are their any rj31x jacks and splitters that are better than others?
Should a filter be placed within the system at any point?

AlarmMike

  • Administrator
  • Security Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1439
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting Visionic PowerMax + to Modem
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2018, 01:10:49 AM »
PUT YOUR SYSTEM ON TEST WITH YOUR MONITORING CENTER!!!!

Pull a 22/4 cable from the panel to the modem.
At the panel replace the old phone line with this new one.
At the modem, install an RJ45 plug on the new cable run.
Connect a cable to the Red and Green terminals in the RJ31X and install an RJ11 plug on the other end.
Connect a cable to the Brown and Grey terminals in the RJ31X and install an RJ11 plug on the other end.
Plug the Red/Green cable into the modem RJ11 jack.
Plug the Brown/Grey cable into your cordless phone base.
Test for dial tone on the phone.
Plug the RJ45 plug into the RJ31X and test the phone again.

DID YOU PUT YOUR ACCOUNT ON TEST WITH THE MONITORING CENTER????

Run a test signal into your monitoring center to ensure communications.
Call your monitoring center to verify reception of the signal.
If successful, call your monitoring center to take your account off test.  If not successful, inspect your work and study your manual regarding any communication settings that might delay transmission.  There can be many variables that inhibit communications from dialer delays, to voltage output by the modem, to call waiting / voicemail.

This method does not require a splitter (which is a poor method of tackling this).  Not sure about Visonic, and it depends on the reporting format used, but a filter may not be necessary.
1993-1995   Worked for one of the "nationals"  /  1996-Present   Independent dealer
Systems supported:   DSC, Ademco/Honeywell, ITI/GE/Interlogix
-----------------------------
To the world you may be one person, but to one person you are the world.
- Kidney transplant recipient 04/27/2011

rjfoster03

  • Gold Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting Visionic PowerMax + to Modem
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2018, 11:25:27 AM »
Appreciate the information and help.  This should make it easier for me to get this connected.

 

Powered by EzPortal