Products on www.Shieldlab.com


Alarm Monitoring

Alarm Monitoring

PPC Ad

Trustpilot Badge >

Women's Self Defense

Women's Self Defense

Members Online

141 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: Blank Display - Sometimes  (Read 116 times)

TimmiT

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Blank Display - Sometimes
« on: April 11, 2018, 12:27:28 AM »
I have a blank display on my RFK5500. I also have a PK5500 hooked up to the DSC PC1832

I had an issue with 1 RFK that had run for a couple of years. I recently replaced it and reprogrammed the new one. After running the new panel for more than a month, I started to get error codes about the supervisory stuff. I appear to have that fixed up (so far anyway).

Currently the display on the RFK is blank. The green checkmark is on, and the system is picking up wireless sensors through it (doors chime). The backlight comes on if I press a button, and currently the system seems to recognize key presses. There is just no information shown on the screen.

If I enter *8 [IC] Then it shows "Enter Section ___". If I enter something, such as using the 902 code to reenroll the keypads, then it goes blank again.

So I have power, and the data. I get display, sometimes, but not all. Any ideas?

AlarmMike

  • Administrator
  • Security Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1416
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Blank Display - Sometimes
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2018, 06:05:01 PM »
Ensure 016 option 3 is OFF (disable keypad blanking).
1993-1995   Worked for one of the "nationals"  /  1996-Present   Independent dealer
Systems supported:   DSC, Ademco/Honeywell, ITI/GE/Interlogix
-----------------------------
To the world you may be one person, but to one person you are the world.
- Kidney transplant recipient 04/27/2011

TimmiT

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Blank Display - Sometimes
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2018, 09:04:21 AM »
That did not do it.

fremont611

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 410
  • Karma: +7/-0
  • You smell somethin'?
    • View Profile
Re: Blank Display - Sometimes
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2018, 10:42:23 AM »
Was it a brand spanking new keypad? A lot of keypads from 2015 had bad displays.

TimmiT

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Blank Display - Sometimes
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2018, 02:19:25 AM »
The second was a new one. It seems to have lasted a few months. I still find it weird that it will display some information, and very clearly, too. It makes me wonder if there is a different issue to have had the original and the replacement go out so close. I hate to buy another keypad , just to have it go bad if this is another issue.

TimmiT

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Blank Display - Sometimes
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2018, 09:59:17 AM »
This shows what the keypad is doing:
https://youtu.be/Q1VB108fmHA

AlarmMike

  • Administrator
  • Security Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1416
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Blank Display - Sometimes
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2018, 01:57:16 PM »
You might try defaulting the keypad back to factory defaults.

* 8 xxxx * 999 * ##
1993-1995   Worked for one of the "nationals"  /  1996-Present   Independent dealer
Systems supported:   DSC, Ademco/Honeywell, ITI/GE/Interlogix
-----------------------------
To the world you may be one person, but to one person you are the world.
- Kidney transplant recipient 04/27/2011

TimmiT

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Blank Display - Sometimes
« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2018, 02:29:59 PM »
I'll give it a try tonight.

 

Powered by EzPortal