Products on www.Shieldlab.com


Alarm Monitoring

Alarm Monitoring

PPC Ad

Trustpilot Badge >

Women's Self Defense

Women's Self Defense

Members Online

82 Guests, 1 User
EdLank

Author Topic: VAM Unable to use Zones for Scene  (Read 565 times)

billwhite75

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
VAM Unable to use Zones for Scene
« on: June 17, 2018, 08:13:07 PM »
I am beyond frustrated with this VAM.  Took forever for me to get it connected to the router.  Had to use static IP.  They should just tell you that.  Then I thought it would be easy to connect to the internet for remote use.  After hours of research I realize you have to go through a dealer to get registered for Total Connect.

Anyway, I got it working on the local network, but cannot get a scene to allow me to use the zones.  It is not highlighted like all the other selections.  Why?  I can set the alarm from the interface.  I tried checking the RIS box too.  What is the RIS box?

Honeywell is horrible for user friendly stuff.  I use their aviation stuff and it is the same complicated stuff.  Any help appreciated.

Flyct

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: VAM Unable to use Zones for Scene
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2018, 11:21:17 PM »
No need to use total connect.

Just Port forward port 443 to the VAM static IP address on your router’s administration screen. Then you should be able to access it from outside the network using https://youroutsideipaddress

You will need to set up a user and password on the VAM to access it. Also make sure you set up the “set up home router” page on the VAM

Also best to use a dynamic dns server such as dyndns.com to create a host name to always link to your home network from outside.

BTW, Garmin kicked Honeywell’s butt in avionics in the GA market.  I worked for them when they were Bendix and used their avionics on and off for many years.

Sterling Donnelly

  • Security Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 1010
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
    • No contract alarm monitoring and DIY friendly home security!
Re: VAM Unable to use Zones for Scene
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2018, 03:49:01 PM »
If you have the Primary RIS Device check box checked off, the VAM can trigger scenes based on zone faults.

If you do choose to go through an AlarmNet provider for TC2 service (which certainly requires less setup but does have monthly fees involved), you would not want that option checked and TC2 would allow you to setup scenes based on zone faults instead of the VAM handling it locally.
Alarmgrid.com offers the full line of Honeywell security equipment and no contract alarm monitoring services with plans starting at only $10/month. Come check us out to see detailed product descriptions catered towards the DIY security community.

 

Powered by EzPortal